Mother’s Day presents for my girls “organic cotton bandanas”

Organic cotton bandanas….that would be a nice cottage industry! I was going to be lazy and buy blanks and print them, but it is almost impossible to find organic cotton bandanas! Not that it took all that long to hem 8 squares (they each got three and I kept two for myself).

Base dye was chaparral (yellow) but over dyed a few of them with cutch. Various leaves were applied, some worked well, others not so great. Sprinkled some dye powders on them (madder, cochineal, turmeric),  covered with rust cloth and steamed for an hour.

My two bandanas were not eco printed. I used them to practice with painting on natural dye pigments (such as was done on the previous post of the give away dress). :/ haven’t taken photos of them yet. Their base colors were chaparral and cutch.

 

4 thoughts on “Mother’s Day presents for my girls “organic cotton bandanas”

Leave a comment