Trying out a new source for linen.

I had bought a bolt of linen from Dharma Trading last year….. nice linen, but it had some sort of finishing on it that made it hard to take up dye unless I triple washed it. Seemed like a waste of water and energy. So I bought three yards of linen from http://www.fabrics-store.com that said it was finish free. I will admit to washing it twice. Which isn’t a true test to see if it would dye more easily.

I liked the results. So perhaps my next bolt will come from there. AND if I buy some more laundry detergent from Dharma… I could probably get away with one washing.

This is the dress I made myself.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Started with snakeweed dyed fabric that had shibori resists clamped onto it. I then used eucalyptus, liquid amber, guava and maple leaves….with a sprinkling of madder and logwood powders…. to create the patterns and color.

Soon (after the holidays?) I will start making fabric for Lilly to sew with.

4 thoughts on “Trying out a new source for linen.

  1. it’s so cool looking but i wonder, if you used large japanese knotwood leaves and put other leaves underneath (like eucas or small maples) if it would give a similar effect?? what do you think?

Leave a Reply

