New Wool Skirt

The wool had been hiding, safe from moths…. and apparently safe from me too! I had no idea where I had stashed it, reminding me that we all do get more like our mothers as we age…. my mom was infamous for hiding things to keep them safe, and never finding them again. Or, to the delight of her grandchildren, offering rewards for the lucky child who could!

This wool was purchased in Portland a few years ago. A remnant, just saying wool/wool blend. I purchased it, along with a few more pieces. They were washed, thenΒ baptized in the Pacific ocean (I always get strange looks from the beach goers, wondering what the crazy lady is doing!). And then put someplace safe πŸ˜‰

Found my stash a couple of weeks ago (Ellie’s jacket was made from one of the pieces)….. was VERY happy!! Especially since the milky merino that I had splurged on was also in the container!

Had hoped to duplicate, roughly, the wonderful results that I had had on the blanket. But didn’t. Love it anyway!

IMG_4141 IMG_4142 IMG_4143 IMG_4144 IMG_4145 IMG_4146 IMG_4147 IMG_4148

I’ve noticed something about prints, and life. From a distance things can seem murky and dismal…. but upon closer inspection, all the little gems shine forth. Reminds me that I need to be happy with those little delights and not concentrate so much on the big picture. I’d be so much happier if I did!

 

IMG_4149 IMG_4150 IMG_4151 IMG_4152 IMG_4153 IMG_4154

The skirt fits and I love it!

Not sure why I can’t iron out the creases (couldn’t with Ellie’s jacket either). Perhaps it was with something added to the wool? But I am not going to let a few wrinkles make me unhappy….. if I did that, I’d get depressed every time I looked into the mirror πŸ˜‰

Oh…. 17 people have their names in the ‘hat’ so far…… I am amazed at the response!

 

24 thoughts on “New Wool Skirt

    • Thanks Judith πŸ˜€
      The cota that I ordered….. it never showed up! I wrote to them and called them and got no response. The check was never cashed, so I’m thinking that it must have been lost in the mail.
      ……. can’t understand why they didn’t get back to me, even if it was to say they never received the order.

  1. Julie, your skirt is a jewel. I love looking up close at every little leaf and green matter. I couldn’t get the wrinkles out of my thrifted wool skirt either and I think I used to know why that was but no longer remember πŸ™‚ Thanks for always sharing your work, I love it. Now, I have to go back and comment on the last two posts that I haven’t commented on yet!! I am famous for putting something in a special place so I won’t loose it and it will be ready for when I need it. I never find it again. Unless it is during the once a decade spring cleaning that I do. xox

    • Thanks Sheri πŸ˜€
      It’s so true, I’m more likely to find something ‘lost’ in my clutter than when I organize things and put them away where they should be! πŸ˜‰ ……. or if not ‘should be’, but a reasonable location. Maybe it’s because I have a disorganized mind….. a distractible mind.
      Would be interesting to find out if the wrinkles could possible be ironed out, although I tried and tried.
      Big Hugs to you!

    • Thank you Deb!
      Not sure if a steamer would work….. it did cross my mind (not that I have one). But I got the wool pretty wet and ironed and ironed…. to no avail.
      Might just be something I have to live with, shouldn’t bother me too much, since I live in wrinkly linen all summer πŸ™‚

    • Stylish, yeah, that’s me! ha ha ha
      It does fit well, and was really easy to sew….. so may have to make a couple more for work.
      As far as wrinkles giving character…… that’s what I say to myself when I look into the mirror these days! πŸ˜‰

  2. That’s one beautiful skirt and a lot of wisdom along as well. After all, the big picture is made of little details…
    I too get a lot of wrinkles on wool and it’s very very hard to iron out. I have embraced the/eir look. (a new term – eco pleat? πŸ™‚

    • Thank Monika!
      Eco pleating….. I like it! Sounds like a fun thing to experiment with. Accordion pleat fold the fabric, place the leaves in, and then boil…… then play with the sharp edges in your design….. accentuating their ‘wrinkle’ instead of trying to get rid of it!

    • Thank you!
      This is the first year that I’ve noticed permanent wrinkles, and it’s just happening on the wool suiting fabric. That’s why I thought that perhaps it wasn’t pure wool. But maybe it’s the type of wool used, and the weave structure? If I had lots of it I would experiment….. maybe I can find more the next time I’m in Portland!

    • You are so sweet Cheryl….. thank you!
      I don’t think that I’d ever be ready to teach…. I always feel like a novice, always with something more to learn.
      The idea of a group gathering still appeals to me….. to share and brainstorm. Just not sure when that will happen……

Leave a Reply

