Some recent projects….. continued.

We’ll see how the computer is acting this evening ๐Ÿ˜€

Besides making the dress, I’ve been working on some thrift shop finds, and re-printing a couple ofย older shirts of mine.. Some for an article I’m writing for Lilly and the rest just because.

I found a great cotton ‘sweater’ top that took prints well.

It went from this ……

IMG_4061

To this…..

IMG_4075

And an old silk blouse of my mother’s. I took out the shoulder pads, and cut the sleeves off (may need a couple of tucks in the shoulder seams to make it a bit less sloppy/large looking).

IMG_4063

 

IMG_4072

And here is a photo of them all. The two shirts in the upper left hand corner are ones that I had dyed before, and the were looking wan, so it was time for a face lift. The others (with the exception of my mom’s silk shirt) are thrift shop shirts, some linen and some cotton.

IMG_4071

 

It’s taking a long time for the photo download, again. I think that it’s time to turn my camera back to low resolution ๐Ÿ˜‰ Had it turned up to high for Lilly’s sake.

I have one more linen shirt that hasn’t been photographed yet. And several more shirts that have been soy milk soaked, and are waiting to be dyed.

But may take a break and do some weaving first ๐Ÿ˜€

 

14 thoughts on “Some recent projects….. continued.

    • Thank you!
      I got tired of looking at the green onions….. didn’t really relate to the blog. So I took a deep breath and said ‘you can change this!’. Lilly had originally helped me set up the page and I wasn’t exactly sure what I was doing, but decided to try and change things up on my own and it worked out! ๐Ÿ˜€

  1. These are great, I have tried dyeing a couple of charity shop (your thrift shops I guess) tops but have had problems with deodrant/sweat marks under the arms, do you have a solution to this or have you never come across it.

    • Thank you!!
      I DO love the process!! I find it so very intriguing, and ‘mysterious’.
      I love the idea of making my own clothes…… and transforming other people’s cast offs into little works of art.
      And the peace that comes from knowing that the only ‘sweat shop’ that is producing these clothes is my own studio…….
      and it is a pretty sweaty place this time of year! ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. oh, Julie, you have got a collection developing. Love the red + tie marks here, they give the pieces ‘a juice’. Also the purple and a hit of almost neon yellow, very pretty.

    • Thanks Monika! ๐Ÿ˜€
      The neon yellow is from sunflowers! Cool, eh? I hope their color is ‘fast’…. haven’t rinsed any of the shirts out yet, giving them time to set a bit. So will see after awhile.

Leave a Reply

