Eco Print Dress For Ellie

Remember the fabric that I posted a couple of weeks ago? Some of it made it’s way into this little dress for Ellie!

I had bought a pattern from Tina Givens named “Ellie”…… how could I resist that!? Plus, it was on sale for only $2.50.

I admit that I modified it somewhat….. I left out the side panels that would’ve been in the purple cochineal fabric. It just seemed like too much dress for a wee little girl. I added the vintage lace around the neckline. Oh, and since I didn’t have any rings for the belt in the back, I turned it into a sash.

IMG_3871 IMG_3873

When I was showing Jeph the dress, after I had photographed it, I noticed a stain on the lace. My first reaction was…. “dang it!”, then I sighed and said “oh well”.

But his reaction was perfect! He said…. “that’s not a stain, that’s history!” A way better way of looking at it, wouldn’t you say?

IMG_3875 IMG_3876 IMG_3877 IMG_3878

I am heading to Portland this coming Tuesday, so won’t be posting anything for a couple of weeks. When I come back, perhaps I will have a photo of Ellie wearing her dress!

10 thoughts on “Eco Print Dress For Ellie

  1. I like jeph’s way of looking at a “stain” as history..and aren’t all prints and dye marks stains of some kind! 🙂 Will hope to see Ellie wearing her dress.. I always love to see your work, Ms. Julie!

  2. Julie!!!!! I love it so much. What a great job you did and your seamstress skills just keep getting better. The colors, the pattern, the lace….just wonderful. I would wear that myself 🙂 Ellie will love it and she will look darling in it. I am so happy you get to go to Portland and visit all your peeps and hold Ellie for long periods of time. Could your birthday get any better? I hope you get to be there for a longer time this time around. What makes that lovely purple color? I really love that shade. It looks so good alongside your yellow orange and browns of the leaf fabric. I also love your handwork around the hem, how cute. Love you, have a super vacation. xox

    • Why thank you SO much Miss Sheri!
      I’m not sure that my seamstress skills are improving that much….. BUT I am more willing to take side roads and try to insert my own ideas, which is fun! Perhaps some day I will be totally designing my own patterns?
      I’ve worn dress ‘#2’ to work twice now….. it’s fun. Haven’t worn the first one yet, am still thinking about adding another ruffle.
      The purple is from cochineal….. I’m interested to see if a soggy diaper changes the color 😉 Should change the Ph a bit.
      I will get to spend a whole week up there with the kids…… much nicer than the 24 hours that I had last time (although the road trip with Lilly made up for the lack of time up there! I wouldn’t trade that for anything!).
      Love you too!
      Would love to see what you have been making!!
      xoxoxo

    • Thank you Gill… I am looking forward to a small break from work, AND seeing my children! It will be wonderful!
      If I can, I will take some photos with Ellie in the dress (if it’s not too huge on her!).

Leave a Reply

