What a Hoot!

I have never really shot a self portrait. I rarely even have photos of me taken anymore! But today I made a foray to Red Tank Draw, to try and take a photo for Lilly to use in her upcoming yellow themed magazine.

Setting the timer on the camera…… then quickly moving to where it was focused…… all without tripping on the rocks (I am a klutz!).  It was hilarious. Needless to say, I had fun. Even if she choses not to use one of my photos, it was good for me to get out of my comfort zone.

I’ll share one of the photos here…..

IMG_3833

Probably should’ve smiled a bit. Ah well.

I had planned on taking the photos up in Oak Creek Canyon, but there is a large forest fire burning in the upper canyon. It has been SO dry and windy here. Hopefully the winds will die down a bit and they can contain the fire soon (1000+ acres burned so far, and 0% contained).

Have another slip dress cut out and partially sewn…. it is soaking in rain water mixed with sea salt. Tomorrow I will dye it.

10 thoughts on “What a Hoot!

  1. Hi Julie!! The setting, your yellow dress, your hat, your earrings, your attitude. All perfect for Lilly’s magazine. Thanks for sharing the photo, I just love seeing you in your beautiful creation. Really good job. xox

    • Thanks Sheri….
      It was hard to go from laughing at myself, to trying to look ‘posed’
      And trying not to remember the big green mojave rattlesnake I saw near there once (there is actually a great story to go along with that sighting).
      hugs and kisses

  2. What a great look for you! You’ve been leery of the camera for as long as I’ve known you, so it’s a real treat to see you in a picture. This time you were in front of the camera as well as behind it! Well done!
    Oh yes, Love the dress! It suits you perfectly!

    • Have I? I guess I’ve never been entirely at ease with how I look…. silly, since it’s the only look I have! Sometimes it’s thinner…. sometimes it’s fatter.
      Thanks for the compliment on the dress, I love it too! And it does suit my personality….. humm, I wonder if I can wear it to work? I need to make some bloomers to wear under it first.
      OH…. Emily got the book! She says that she will write you a thank you note, and I’m sure she will! But maybe not right away…. she has a lot on her plate.

  3. My dear Julie, you look gorgeous in that outfit, so much YOU. Love how you combined it with the bright top and some trousers + the hat + the earrings. And what a backdrop! Perfect!

    • Thank you Monika….. you are a sweetie!
      I’m going to make some ‘bloomers’ to wear under it, and other slip dresses. I got an old embroidered sheet that I’m going to cut up and use for them.
      I had fun messing around trying to get an okay photo.
      Big Hugs to you!!
      Julie

Leave a Reply

