Done in time for Christmas…..

It took me long enough to weave this little lap blanket!! Actually the weaving itself took no time at all. The spinning (not all of the warp is hand spun, but a good portion of it is), the dyeing, the procrastination, the baby, distractions. 😉

Woven double. Remembered to sley the fold side a bit more open…. but should’ve done it more so, there is a dark line running down the middle when I hold it up to the light. It had been a long time since I did any double weave. Only one mistake! A treadling one where I hooked the open side together in one spot…… silly me!

HUGE shrinkage!! The warp was 30 inches wide on the loom (60 open) and the finished width (after weaving and washing) is 50 inches. The length of the blanket went from 84 inches to 72 inches. If there was a hole in the middle, it would make the perfect poncho (size wise)!! A thing to remember when I go to weave a poncho or ruana.

All in all I am very pleased with it!!

Oh…. the yarn was mostly cochineal dyed, with some madder and brazilwood dyed yarns thrown in. The grey and light brown yarns are not dyed.IMG_3255 IMG_3256

12 thoughts on “Done in time for Christmas…..

  1. Good Lord, is that ever a beauty to behold!! The color is a feast to the eye, the red so life giving and nourishing. Whoever gets to hold and cuddle it, is one lucky duck. xox

    • Thanks Sheri!!
      It’s going to Cooper. I’m safe saying that here, the only one who reads my blog is Lilly….. unless I post a notice about it on their facebook pages.
      It is like one of my shawls, but larger! So soft and sensual….. I do love it!
      Maybe he will use it in a photoshoot! That would be cool!
      xoxo

      • Wow, lucky man. He will love it so. Yes, I hope he uses it in a photoshoot. If he does, please let me know so I can see too. I hope you entered India’s giveaway. I think today is the last day. You can enter on her Facebook page and on her blog. She is choosing one person from her blog comments and one from her facebook comments for the giveaway!!!! I am sure all have their fingers crossed.

    • It is very cosy Monika! I am so very happy with it, despite the ‘mistakes’.
      And I think that Cooper will like it too, and he doesn’t like wool! Well, he doesn’t like wool that touches his body….
      Weaving it brought many more projects into my head (as always)…. we’ll see if I actually make them!

    • Thanks Mariana 🙂
      This one won’t be a ruana….. it’s a lap blanket. But it is the perfect size, so I need to remember the dimensions when I put on a warp for a ruana. I like wearing them too!

Leave a Reply

