First…. a question!

I was wondering if anybody out there knows how to neutralize the scent of rust/iron and egg?

I usually use a combination of these two items when doing my eco prints, and the resulting odor lingers must longer than I would like it to. Even after washing and rinsing. It does dissipate after many washings….. but was hoping for a more quick result!

Do you think that a soak in water with baking soda would help?

I have been doing a bit of dyeing. Three more silk slips (that are listed on etsy, even with their lingering odor).

eco print slip large eco print slip small front eco print slip medium

 

 

I have another one waiting to be washed…. I like it the most, of the ones I have done so far (I’ll post a photo of it this coming week). There is a crease along one side that blocked the prints, and that bothers me….. although Lilly and Jeph seem to think that it’s not Β problem. I’ll go with their opinion! I tend to be a ‘task master’ and am too finicky with anything I make…. always looking for ‘perfection’.

I also have a handwoven wool/silk scarf that I printed….. I’ll wash and photo it too this coming Monday.

And I have a peace silk scarf that I wove last week that is waiting to be printed.

Long over due update….. sorry!

 

12 thoughts on “First…. a question!

  1. Hi there πŸ™‚
    I think it’s worthwhile trying with baking soda. In my experience a good ventilation is needed, but sometimes it stays…
    A vinegar rinse would help in other cases but here it will damage the fiber.
    😦
    Warm regards

  2. Let me know the results! I think I am ready to start printing and an indigo vat tomorrow and I know odors (smelly smells) will come with both activities! I have been felting a lot for an Alumni Show so I have not done much printing yet- felting isn’t smelly- pm me and let’s catch up!

    • Hi Ginny!!
      I will let you know how it works out….. am washing them tonight, then will soak them in some baking soda water and see what happens.
      I can’t wait to see how your prints, and indigo dyeing, turn out!
      Where should I pm you? Through Flickr or Etsy?
      Hugs
      Julie

    • πŸ˜€
      I just used egg white on my last scarf and there wasn’t really any smell…. just a nice eucalyptus scent.
      I can’t remember when I first started using egg….. it might have been after reading something by an artist printing on paper. But I know that I’ve been doing it for a long time ( “long time” translating into a couple of years).

  3. Dear Julie,

    I just found your blog last night and have been reading, reading, reading…Just like catching up with an old friend…which you are πŸ˜‰ So good to see you here.

    I have been experimenting a bit with the natural dyeing and am so enjoying looking at all of your beautiful creations….Wow!

    Hope you’re having a great weekend.

    Big hugs,
    Dawn

    • Hi Dawn!!
      I’ve missed you!! I’m glad you found my little blog πŸ™‚
      I hope you post some photos of your natural dyeing experiments.
      I’m still on Flickr, even if I hate their new format, but I haven’t seen you post anything there in over a year. 😦 And I do look!
      Now…. time to scurry off to work. One more day of my work week, and then I can get back to doing what I love.
      Big hugs
      Julie

      • So, good to hear from you Julie….I have missed you, too….Bunches πŸ˜‰

        By the way, I don’t like Flickr’s format either. I didn’t know if I was doing something wrong or if it was my computer or what….Well, at least I know it’s not me πŸ˜‰ Or only partly me ;-))) I will try to post some photos soon. Mine won’t be up to par with yours, but perhaps you could give me some pointers ;-))

        Hope your work day went by quickly.

        Love,
        Dawn

      • Work went by fairly quickly…. but my days off are speeding by even more rapidly 😦
        I’m looking forward to seeing your photos!!! I’m not sure that I can give you any pointers….. but if you have questions, don’t hesitate to ask me, and if I know the answers I’ll tell you! πŸ™‚
        Hugs
        Julie

Leave a Reply

