Blue Everywhere

I have my slip/underskirt in it’s final stage. It’s going a bit more slowly than I expected as my sewing machine took this moment to have some sort of tantrum (hopefully it just needs a good cleaning). I sewed the side seam of the slip last night… then as I started to sew the next seam, the bobbin thread and the top thread started to skip areas of joining. And the tension began to go wonky. I tried everything I could think of to fix it (with my limited knowledge). But alas.

So in frustration I began to hand hem it (when I knew all along that the nicest hem would be hand done anyway)….. pricked my thumb several times, and let a few tears slip.

But the wonderful part was the transformation of my mood while I was sewing!! I went from feeling stressed, sad, angry, frustrated to such a nice blissful calm! Not even the few droplets of blood on the white silk bothered me!

I know that I can gather the top of the slip easily….. but am a bit concerned about hand stitching in it place under the dress. What will keep the gathers in place? I’m sure the question will resolve itself as I’m actually sewing….. but  ANY hints will be appreciated!

 

 

 

 

I also plunged an off-white cotton shawl from Oaxaca into the indigo vat, thought that it might work as a wrap for the wedding. If not, I love blue anyway!

 

🙂  Of course I forgot to check my gloves for holes before I used them! So now my hands match everything else! Won’t my boss love that when I go back to work on Thursday!

4 thoughts on “Blue Everywhere

  1. What a wonderful colour Julie – it will look so nice under your lovely dress – to keep the gathering in place if the sewing machine is not working what about a row of hand stitching with back stitches every so often? However, I am not really a seamstress so what do I know! I am sure you have sorted it out by now!!

    • Thanks for the sewing tip Gill! I haven’t sewn it in yet….. I need to rinse it and dry it and iron it…. so hopefully by tomorrow afternoon I will have a chance to sew it in.
      This evening I’m stitching up holes in an old silk kimono top…. am thinking about eco printing it, but am hesitating because it is so old and fragile (it’s just been hanging on a hanger on my wall for years). If it turns out I might wear it as a wrap for the wedding….. or maybe not, that might be just too
      many patterns going on (even for a crazy old lady like me!).

  2. I would love to help, but can’t somehow visualise your question :(. That old kimono could look great, even if you had to hand aplique it on some new fabric, after all dyeing/printing is done.

    • 😀 I figured out how to do it…… it was a silly question (I can just see all of the hand sewers rolling their eyes at me!).
      I’m thinking that I’ll bring the mended kimono with me… undyed…. to dip into the ocean! The Oaxacan shawl turned out a nice shade of blue, and it matches the underskirt so well that it will be my wrap for the wedding.

Leave a Reply

