One mis-step and in an instant everything changes…..

My daughter Lilly showed up Tuesday night, she and her fellow were trying to escape the heat of Phoenix for a day.

She showed me how to put links on my wordpress site…. then we decided to go for a late night walk in the relative coolness. We were having a great time, walking and talking, away from the guys for a moment for some ‘girl time’.

Then, crossing the street in the dark I didn’t see the curb coming up, and Kablam! I went down!! I caught myself on my hands and knees.

I got up, with difficulty, and checked out the damage. My heel of my left hand had a huge ‘egg’ on it, my right arm had pain shooting up from the wrist to the elbow. My right knee  was a tiny bit scraped up…. but starting to swell. Oh, and the ribs under my left breast hurt.

Lilly asked me of I was okay….. and the only thought that came to mind was….. “I’m thirsty!”. Odd.

We walked a short ways to some outside benches in front of a deli so that I could sit down. I was beginning to feel woozy, a little bit in shock. I checked out my knee again, it being my main concern as we had a ways to walk before getting back to the house.

Just then a truck approached us slowly and a man asked if we needed a ride someplace, as it looked like I had hurt my knee. I said “Oh? Did you see me fall?! And he said “No, but I saw you checking out your knee and I figured that you needed help” I felt uneasy. So said, “no, we’re okay” Then he slowly pulled away and backed into an alley and remained in his truck. Creepy. What was more creepy was that Lilly had seen him pulling out from the exact same spot right before he approached us. Why was he there? Surveillance? A ‘good guy” or a “bad guy”?

About this time I decided that if I didn’t have to walk home, I’d rather not. Lilly unfortunately didn’t have her cell phone on her….. but miraculously she did have a quarter in her pocket and there was a pay phone in front of the deli.

She called her guy and asked him to come get us…. that “Mom looks bad!” 

We got home. I kept wanting to go into shock for some reason. My knee swelled to three times it’s normal size. My left hand hurt, but the ‘egg’ was going down. But my right arm was what was bothering me. I couldn’t move it past a certain position…. couldn’t straighten my elbow. Everybody looked at it, nobody thought that it was broken, including myself….. just jammed.

Took some ‘rescue remedy’ and arnica….. although both were out of date. Lilly made me wash my knee off. Then found me some frozen peas to put on it (no ice in the house).

I spent the 4th of July on the couch with ice packs.

Now it’s Thursday…. my knee is still swollen a bit. Can’t use my left thumb to grip anything because of the huge bruise on the heel of the hand. My ribs still hurt. AND I still can’t straighten my right arm. 

I have a chiropractor appointment this afternoon, it’s the soonest she could see me. Hopefully she can get everything back to where it’s supposed to be! I can’t afford to miss another day of work.

And that’s my “pity party” story…. 🙂  Hopefully there will never be another one to tell!

6 thoughts on “One mis-step and in an instant everything changes…..

  1. Dear Julie, I just read your post. My heart goes out to you. That was a very scary ordeal you went through and I am so sorry you got injured. I have done that before and I know what a bummer it is for one minute to be upright and the next on the ground, all scraped up. I am holding in my thoughts and prayers that your arm just needs a little gentle adjustment and then will be alright. If you have any arnica oil, please apply to your injured areas at least three times a day. That helps swelling and bruising go down pretty quickly. I wish I was there to help you, to apply poultices, to keep lavender in the aroma therapy dispenser near your place of rest, to massage your feet, make you cold smoothies and soup, to do hands on healing. To soothe your worried heart by reminding you that this too shall pass and all is well. To ask you what is life trying to tell you, why are you supposed to slow down right now? I will hold you in a golden column of healing and energizing light. Use this time “on the ice” to see yourself completely healed and to dream new and big creative dreams for your alchemical plant spirit cloth. Ask the plant spirits to help you. I love you lots and lots. xox Sheri

  2. Thanks you all for your well wishes!
    My arm was dislocated at the elbow…… but nothing broken!!
    Still sore…. and swollen….. but on the mend!
    And…. by going to the chiropractor for it, it cost me a lot less money than urgent care would’ve. $46 for her, plus missing two days of work…… let’s say $250 total, whereas urgent care would’ve cost twice that alone, not to mention the missed work days!

Leave a Reply

