“Spawn”

A long time ago I started to make my daughter Lilly a quilt. It had alternating squares of handwoven fabric and squares of recycled old velvet and corduroy shirts. It looked pretty…. bright bold colors, mainly purples and oranges.

But I made one major mistake! The seams were much too narrow for handwoven fabric, which has a tendency to unravel. I couldn’t figure out what to do to remedy the problem. I finally tried to iron on interfacing to cover the seams….. and there it sits, to this day, languishing away.

A couple of weeks ago, when I started making Jeph an eco printed quilt….  some pieces I put together that didn’t really fit in with the rest. It was these pieces that ‘spawned’ the idea of a quilt for Lilly! To make up for the long ago birthday present she never got.

So “Happy Birthday”….. a decade late!! Image

6 thoughts on ““Spawn”

  1. Julie,
    So glad to see you in blog-land, with 2 posts under your belt! This is a lovely thing, your eco quilt. Keep going. I love to see what you are making, and how it comes together

    • Thank you for your kind words. I hope that there will be more posts. I think about it, then don’t follow through.
      This week I made eco prints on tea bags….. to make my son a birthday card. I was going to write a blog about it, but then put the card into the mail before I had taken photos…. 😦

Leave a Reply

